Operators inside quotation marks

Greetings!

This is my very first post and I am a user of Intella Pro 2.7.1. So please guide me if this is not where I should be putting such queries. I have quite a few and will try not to club everything into one.

The first one is about operators.

I was executing a search for a file name that had spaces. So I enclosed the whole name in double quotes.

However, when I write

"Alpha Bravo and Charlie-Delta Echo Foxtrot Golf Hotel India_Jjuliette_15.30.1820.pdf"
I get 7 results whereas, if I write

"Alpha Bravo AND Charlie-Delta Echo Foxtrot Golf Hotel India_Jjulie_15.30.1820.pdf"
I get zero results.

While I understand that AND is an operator, I thought it would behave differently when put inside double quotes.
Besides, I do not think the documentation says anywhere that the operators are case sensitive. It would probably be better to get used to && and II.

-SL

• 2 weeks later...

That's an interesting observation. My understanding is that boolean operators are case sensitive. From your experience, it appears that Intella's query parsing is treating that AND as a boolean operator despite being in quotes.

I did some testing where I have 4 documents with the string "this is to certify". If I search for "this is to certify", I get all four. If I search for "this is AND to certifiy", I get the same four. If I search for "this is NOT to certify", I don't get any hits. If I search for "this is NOT my certify", I get the same four documents.

So it looks like it's searching for a string that starts with "this is", that is NOT followed by "my", but that is then followed by "certify". Applying that logic to the AND boolean operator, the search "this is AND to certify" is the same as "this is to certify" because in the first instance, we are saying the third word must be "to". That seems pointless. But that means you can do something like this:

"this is AND (to OR from) certify"